I got it all together

“Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed–not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence–continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling,for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.”

Phil. 2:12-13

For me, it is so easy to present to the world that I have it all together. I realize this more as I write this blog.; it is tempting to present a flawless image of myself. I also do this in how I present myself as a father, in my ministry, as a husband, in almost every aspect of my life. Yet I know the truth in my heart. I know that I am conceited, selfish, arrogant, prideful, deceiving, lustful…the list goes on and on.

To be honest, I often feel inadequate communicating Christ to others because of how ugly I can be. The worst is when you are about to go have coffee with a guy and instruct him in growing in his faith and not 30 minutes before you had an argument with your wife or were yelling at your kids. Yet, you walk into the restaurant, Bible app open on your phone, smiling and Loving Jesus! On the outside you look calm and steady, but inside you are anything but.

The question is how am I supposed to represent Christ to someone when I don’t have it all together? The answer is that I will never have it all together! In fact, I don’t want to have it all together, because then it would completely eliminate my need for a Savior! I want to quit trying to make it seem like I do, because all I am doing is wearing myself smooth out!

Every day I am falling flat on my face and getting back up. Every day I feel inadequate and unworthy. Every day I am constantly working out my salvation with fear and trembling! I do not have it any more together than the next guy, and the more transparent I can be and realize my need for a Savior the better off I will be. If you read my blog, then know that this broken man behind the curtain is still just a man who is trying desperately to follow Jesus, and I would not have it any other way!

Open it Up

Phil 2:12-15

Read a little More

Phil. 2

Leave a comment